What is the recipe for success?

I just read this from Blake Shelton and it gives me some confidence…

“Miranda and I have been together, it’s getting close to five years now,” he said. “We’ve had our good years and our bad years and our really bad years. But I think right now, she and I have a stronger relationship than we’ve ever had, even in the early times when it was new and exciting, it still didn’t feel like it feels right now. We’ve been through a lot together, and we’ve toughed it out. It’s exciting to me.”

“Probably for the first time I can realistically say, I can see us being together forever,” he added. “I can see us getting married one day, maybe, where before you would never have gotten me to say something like that. As far as I’m concerned we’re definitely closer than we’ve ever been to maybe taking that step.”

I guess because this level of seriousness is all new to me, I look for benchmarks to measure my level of confidence.  I know it’s wrong.  Every relationship is different.  But some of us are better students of other’s examples, some by experience.

I’ve always been one for experience.  Especially in the realm of amour.  But this time, the experience is jumping a stage or two, rather than running extra steps.  To uproot and to move, to follow someone who has shown you for ever in a few months.. this is the pinch of scary with handful of exciting, in a bowl of adventure.  The adventure bowl is getting grains of both ingredients.  Most of the time, it feels as though the hand is afraid to let go, allowing the pinch to become overwhelming.  The hand is getting tired, but doesn’t know whether it’s making the right decision or not.  Is this the stage where it’s better to follow the recipe book, or to wing it?  Being unfamiliar at cooking, and this dish, what if the mix isn’t right?  I know it’s all about learning by trial and error, but what if it the results are catastrophic?  I could burn my hand, reminding me of the pain of learning how to cook.

But then again, there is a reason as to why God gave me two, right?

Leave a Reply

